Anyone who has ever lived in a city knows that proximity to
public transportation is real estate gold. Fortunately, my residence hall is
literally right next to a tube station and a bus stop. The tube is generally
faster, but the bus is less expensive, and I kind of like it better because my
new favorite thing to do is sit in the very front seat on the upper deck of the
bus and pretend to drive:
I KNOW, RIGHT? So fun.
So yesterday I was waiting for a bus at Trafalgar Square.
It’s a fairly busy area with a lot of buses, but I was the only one waiting at
this particular stop for a few minutes until an older couple walked up to stand
with me. Generally people stand in line, but it was just the three of us so we
wound up in kind of a cluster. After a few more minutes the bus pulled up, and
the woman turned to me and said, “Would you like to get on first? You were
standing here before us.”
Um, what? Get thee back with thy strange manners! (I
did not say that to her. I actually let her and her husband get on first
because they were older and I felt weird and didn’t know what to do, and also their oldness probably meant that they weren't going to climb the stairs and sit in my driving seat.) But I was
not prepared for her level of politeness. Not that I expected rudeness, but
there were only three of us so it didn't occur to me that I should expect them to let me get on first.
That tends to be a thing here, though. People queue at the
bus stop, at elevators, and at restaurants that are not yet open for the day.
Nearly everyone waits until the little man turns green before crossing the
street. At the tube stations, they will stay behind the yellow line on the
platform until the train stops. And if you get to the platform and there are
tons of people already waiting, you stand behind the crowd that was already
there and let them get on first. Then the train pulls away and your bunch steps
forward and other people get behind you. It’s very civilized, as opposed to everyone
trying to crowd onto the 1 at Penn Station like it’s the last helicopter out of
Vietnam. But I’ve only been here for a week so maybe I just haven’t experienced
real life yet.
Another difference that I’ve noticed, mostly in the tube
stations, is the absence of garbage cans, and also, weirdly, the absence of
garbage. In the subway stations in Manhattan, there are garbage cans like every
five feet and also what looks to be the entire contents of those cans combined
all over the tracks. I haven’t been able to figure out the math behind that one
yet; so far it seems like No Garbage Cans = No Garbage, while Many Garbage Cans
= All The Garbage.
I asked one of the British girls in my department about the
absence of garbage cans, and she said, “Oh, do you mean bins? Yeah, that’s
because the IRA were putting bombs in them in the 80s and 90s, so we don’t have
them anymore.” and I was like, “That makes total sense, and incidentally I am
now afraid of garbage cans.”
But I don't want to leave you with the idea of garbage can terrorism, so instead here's a picture that I took today of a random group of Steelers fans near Covent Garden:
Apparently the NFL had an exhibition game in London today: Steelers v Vikings. Although aside from these dudes I didn't really see any team loyalty. I saw some Patriots jerseys (ironic, no?), some Bears, two Eagles, a few Green Bays, some Saints, and one lonely Cowboy. An interesting spread, if I may say so.

drive carefully.
ReplyDeleteGlad you were able to unpack. Do you like your classes? Your blog is fun. We've had some procedural changes here again. Your picutres look good. Have you been to the British Museum yet?
ReplyDelete